Conservation Board Wants Input From Hunters

The Alabama Conservation Advisory Board will hold its first scheduled meeting of 2014 on March 1, in Montgomery.

The meeting will take place at the Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries, Richard Beard Building Auditorium located at 1445 Federal Dr. in Montgomery. 

Registration for those wishing to address the board will be from 8 a.m. to 8:30 a.m., and the meeting will begin promptly at 9 a.m.

Attendees with materials they wish to share with CAB members are encouraged to bring 16 copies of the material for distribution.

The Conservation Advisory Board assists in formulating policies for the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (ADCNR), examines all rules and regulations, and makes recommendations for their change or amendment. This includes hunting seasons and bag limits.

The board is comprised of 10 members appointed by the governor for alternating terms of six years. Dan Moultrie of Verbena, Ala., currently serves as chairman. Additional Conservation Advisory Board members, all from Alabama, include Austin Ainsworth of Guntersville, Grady Hartzog of Eufaula, Bill Hatley of Gulf Shores, T.J. Bunn of Tuscaloosa, Raymond Jones Jr. of Huntsville, Jeff Martin of Pell City, Joseph Dobbs Jr. of Bessemer, Dr. Bob Shipp of Mobile, and Dr. Warren Strickland of Huntsville.

The three ex-officio members of the Conservation Advisory Board include Governor Robert Bentley, Agriculture Commissioner John McMillan, and Alabama Cooperative Extension System Director Dr. Gary Lemme. ADCNR Commissioner N. Gunter Guy Jr. serves as the ex-officio secretary of the Board.