Kentucky Commissioner Tapped for Federal Council

Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources Commissioner Dr. Jon Gassett has been appointed to a three-year term on the Wildlife and Hunting Heritage Conservation Council.

Dr. Jon Gassett

Gassett, current president of the Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies and past president of the Southeast Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies, is the only state fish and wildlife agency head among the 18 council appointments made by Salazar and Vilsack.

The council is an advisory group established in 2010 by U.S. Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar and Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack to advise them on wildlife conservation, habitat conservation and hunting. It was established under the Federal Advisory Committee Act that helps promote and preserve America’s wildlife and hunting heritage for future generations.

“During its inaugural term, members of the council provided important recommendations on conserving wildlife habitat and water resources that are so important to America’s hunting and angling heritage, as well as enhancing access to the great outdoors,” Salazar said.

Gassett also currently serves on the Council to Advance Hunting and the Shooting Sports, which works to promote the industry-federal-state relationship responsible for collecting and disseminating funding for the Wildlife and Sport Fish Restoration Program.

He is a member of two federal task forces: the Sport Fish and Wildlife Restoration Joint Task Force and the Endangered Species Joint Task Force. He represents the Mississippi Flyway Council on the North American Wetlands Conservation Council, which allocates approximately $40 million annually for wetlands conservation across North America, and is a National Conservation Leadership Institute board member.

The six federal agencies playing a key role in supporting and maintaining America’s outdoors heritage, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Bureau of Land Management, National Park Service, U.S. Forest Service, Natural Resource Conservation Service and Farm Service Agency and the Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies, also will appoint organizational members to the council.