NEXT ON DDH TV: What Diseases Do Deer Encounter and Just How Much Do You Know About Them?

During the drought of 2012, hunters came face to face with diseases that were responsible for the deaths of many deer across the country including thousands in the upper Midwest due to epizootic hemorrhagic disease.

EHD has been discovered in two deer in north Florida, the latest state to be hit with the often-fatal disease caused by biting midges. (Photo: KDWFP)

EHD has been discovered in two deer in north Florida, the latest state to be hit with the often-fatal disease caused by biting midges. (Photo: KDWFP)

On the next episode of Deer & Deer Hunting TV, experts take a look at the various diseases that afflict deer herds and provide hunters with important information about the diseases.

Deer & Deer Hunting TV airs on NBC Sports in primetime on Sundays at 9:30 EST/8:30 CT and on Tuesdays at 2 p.m. EST/1 p.m. CT.

The 2012 drought introduced epizootic hemorrhagic disease (EHD) into the hunter’s vocabulary after many herds were affected. EHD is the most significant disease concerning whitetail deer in the United States and can result in high deer mortality in some areas.

On this week’s episode, Deer & Deer Hunting TV looks at this harmful disease and a handful of others in an effort to understand these ailments. Avid hunters should tune in to check out a breakdown of various contagions including how they’re defined, spread and controlled.

 

 

COMMENT