blackpowder suggestions

Talk about the best guns and ammunition for deer hunting!
Deebz

blackpowder suggestions

Postby Deebz » Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:45 am

Hey Guys,

So I picked up a CVA Buckhorn muzzloader recently. I plan on using it to hunt whitetail. On the farm I mainly bowhunt most of my shots are within 100yds if I'm in the timber, but when i hunt the field edges I could have shots out to a mile (I obviously know I can't shoot that far). The other farm I hunt on is mostly longer range over open fields as there really isn't any timber to speak of.

I'm looking for suggestions on bullet type/weight as well as powder type/amount that will maximize my distance. I'm thinking I'll stick to bow and maybe the 12 ga for the one farm, and take the muzzy out to the open field farm.

I am brand new to muzzleloading aside from having shot them a few times. I did pick up some Hogdon pellets and some bullets just so I can shoot and get comfortable with the gun, but I'd like to hear from your experiences what may work best in hunting situation before i get all serious about sighting in.

Thanks!
"When a hunter is in a tree stand with high moral values and with the proper hunting ethics and richer for the experience, that hunter is 20 feet closer to God." ~Fred Bear

Ohio farms

Re: blackpowder suggestions

Postby Ohio farms » Fri Mar 22, 2013 7:07 pm

Hey Deebz, I've been using muzzleloaders in Ohio since they started allowing them sometime in the 80's. I have been using a T/C OMega for the last few years and it really is very accurate out to 100yds. I say 100yds because that is the farthest that I have ever shot it. It's very similar in NE Ohio in that most shots in the woods will be 100 or less.
I use TC ShockWave Sabots, 250 grains. Hodgdon triple seven 50 Gr. pellets (I use 2 = 100Gr.) It's recommended that you use this powder with 209 primers, not snapcaps. I'm not sure if your's uses 209's or not. I do shoot a 3 x 9 scope with it.