Game Camera...no deer in day time

Your place to discuss ways the habitats for deer can be improved!
BlountArrow

Game Camera...no deer in day time

Postby BlountArrow » Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:09 am

I have about 130 acres I manage for mostly deer and turkeys.  I've been putting food plots out for at least 5 years and the deer sightings are still hit or miss so that tells you I'm not in a largely populated deer area. 

Anyways, I dont think the hunting pressure is that bad...to my knowledge no one hunts the property I manage - not even I due to the low population.  Naturally, I'm sure there is hunting pressure on surrounding properties and a nearby wildlife mgt area. 

I just can't figure out why I only get pics of deer at night.  It is probably just coincidence but for the last 3 years I've gotten maybe 1 or 2 pics of deer during the day and EVERYTHING else has been at night.  Any theories about this anyone?  The camera is setup viewing a foodplot and corn feeder.  I get plenty of day time pics of some really big Toms but NO DEER. 

gunther89

RE: Game Camera...no deer in day time

Postby gunther89 » Wed Sep 30, 2009 7:21 am

There are alot of reasons why they aren't showing up during daylight hours.  1 could be that there is a better food source just inside the woods like acorns and that is causing the deer to hold up and not enter the field until its dark out.  Also it could be human scent in the area.  If deer smell you they will go nocturnal and then the best chance of getting them on camera would be the rut.
Scott

reeper0697

Postby reeper0697 » Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:29 am

How often do you go in the woods to check your camera and feeder? The surrounding pressure could have a big impact and thats why you are only seeing them at night. Maybe they associate the feeder during daylight hours with danger and therefore only visit it at night. If we could only get into those little buggers minds!
Put me on a mountain, way back in the backwoods