Plot Size... To Small??

Your place to discuss ways the habitats for deer can be improved!
shadow

Plot Size... To Small??

Postby shadow » Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:01 pm

I wanted to start a large food plot on a piece of my property but decided to go a bit smaller because I have never done this before.
I would like to know your thoughts on a very small hunting plot that is sort of funnel shaped and that goes from the smallest width which is about 10' then widens out to about 40'. Its depth is also about 35-40 feet. Would this be to small?
I can easily get equipment into this area and it also is an area that deer already travel through. I plan on killing grass and weeds tomorrow, then manually raking up sticks, dead material etc..  in about a week. I will then rototill and let it sit for about a week and then spray again before I plant seed.
I may possibly also extend the plot down the trail which is about 10' wide, and I then can easily get another 50 to 75 feet of area planted in both directions connected to this funnel plot.

I don't know, should I just leave it as a small sized funnel plot or would it benefit me to also extend it the extra 50 to 75 feet. If I do extend it, it will be on a trail I use for driving my truck through my property.(I don't know if it matters)
And... I originally and still do want to go with a perenial clover which right now I would prefer to plant in the spring, but for a mid summer planting what do you feel will give me good results as far as rapid growth and that deer will eat this fall.

PrairieShadow

RE: Plot Size... To Small??

Postby PrairieShadow » Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:33 pm

it may get hit very hard being that small but i believe it is better than nothing for attracting deer.
Hunting isn't a matter of Life or Death
Its MUCH more important than that!

msbadger

Postby msbadger » Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:51 pm