Newbie needs Mentor

MnMario125

Newbie needs Mentor

Postby MnMario125 » Tue Dec 07, 2010 5:37 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the hunting community. I've been quite interetested in hunting for the last two years but have been actively researching for the last 6 months. I've picked up some tips here and there from this site but in all honesty i'm very raw when it comes to hunting. I've read a few articles that suggest finding someone that you know that will take you with them. Problem is, no one I know hunts. Are there any experienced hunters that wouldn't mind taking a long a newbie.

Or does anyone knwo of any clubs that I could join that do some classes or group hunts (hell not sure if there is such a thing, but I figured it can't hurt to ask).

Cheers!
~M

***Edit: I live in Brooksville, FL. Hernando County. North of Tampa.

Sailfish

RE: Newbie needs Mentor

Postby Sailfish » Wed Dec 08, 2010 3:36 pm

Hello Mario, just off the top of my head ( not sure if you've started here with your research yet):

http://myfwc.com/RECREATION/Hunt_index.aspx
It has tons of info. Hardest part is figuring out what license to apply for, how, priority points etc
Its confusing to say the least.

Not sure if your into archery or not but there are a few  clubs around. They have 3-d shoots regularly. It is a GREAT place to meet fellow hunters.  One is sort of near you. Gasparilla Bowmans club. Check it out.

Also http://www.floridaarchery.org/index.htm is another great resource.

Hopefully other FL members willl provide you with yet more info to peruse
"Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther."

MnMario125

Postby MnMario125 » Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:46 pm

Thanks Sailfish!

I'm taking it all in and have been researching here and there. but any information from experienced hunters is always great. I will check the sites you mentioned.

Cheers!
~M

SwampLife

Postby SwampLife » Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:32 pm

Hey,