Judge yardage from a treestand

How can you become a better hunter? Find out here — and share your advice!
Hunting Junky

Judge yardage from a treestand

Postby Hunting Junky » Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:15 pm

I know that a rangefinder would solve any doubts or second guessing on this but How much of a difference is it from being on the ground then say being up 20ft in a treestand? Big? small? Is there a formula?? I've hunted most of my time on the ground and this year I bought a climber. When Im in it things seem closer then what they did on the ground. There has to be more yardage involved.? Does it change with the shooting angles? Can you guys help clear this up for me. This is my first year bow hunting (I love that thing). Ive shot it (from the ground) at my bag target so many times it looks like I shot it with a fully auto.

shaman

RE: Judge yardage from a treestand

Postby shaman » Wed Sep 30, 2009 12:23 am

If you want the formula for calculating the distance from up a tree vs. on the ground, you can't do any better than the pythagorean theorem:  a^2 * b^2 = c^2.    Let's assume you see a deer standing next to a tree that you know to be 20 yards out.  Your stand height is 20 feet.

a^2=20^2 = 20 X20 = 400 feet
b^2 = (20*3)^2 = 60 X 60= 3600 feet

c= the square root of ( 400+3600)=  63.25 feet or 21 yards.

What Pythagorus is telling you here is that at 20 feet up, the difference between the ground and the treestand ain't all that much.

The big problem is going to be the fact that by being elevated, and shooting down, you are somewhat negating the effect that gravity will have on the arrow.  The formula to calculate that is much more complicated, but a high-school physics textbook would teach you how. 

The rule of thumb used to be: Beyond 20 yards, subtract one pin.  That is, if the deer presents himself at 30 yards, shoot with the 20 yard pin.  I bought my last bow in 1996, so forgive me if that rule does not fit your new bow.