Lots of questions on location...

How can you become a better hunter? Find out here — and share your advice!
botenann

Lots of questions on location...

Postby botenann » Mon Nov 09, 2009 1:41 pm

I've been hunting for about 6 years now (I'm 21) and I was wondering if anyone had any tips on the best place to set up for rifle season to increase my chances of at least seeing SOMETHING (even a doe)... The first day of Rifle is coming in here Saturday and I know I should have been out scouting way earlier in the season but I can't ever seem to find any signs of deer on the two properties I hunt. I've seen deer though... The first property is a lot of open fields, and very little wooded areas that are directly beside dirt roads. I'm not sure if being by the dirt road that cars sometime travel would hurt my chances of seeing anything or not... There is also a huge dense pine area that is really to thick to even go into, but there is a clearing directly beside the pines  (away from roads etc) and I've thought about setting up there but some trapping was done so I'm not sure if that would affect anything either....

The other property again is a lot of fields, very little wooded areas and they're being hunted by my older siblings...

I'm at a loss really, i'm not looking for a trophy just some meat in the freezer really. If anyone has any tips or can make sense of any of the information I posted above I would greatly appreciate it!

botenann

RE: Lots of questions on location...

Postby botenann » Mon Nov 09, 2009 2:57 pm

I guess I should also add that this is mostly farmland (no crops in a few years, just livestock), I took an image from google satellite maps although I'm not sure how much it will help, if any at all... roads are to the west and south of the property.. (justoutside border of picture)

Swandog09

Postby Swandog09 » Tue Nov 10, 2009 8:32 am

Botenann,