Archery Accuracy

How can you become a better hunter? Find out here — and share your advice!
gtonagel

Archery Accuracy

Postby gtonagel » Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:26 pm

I'm fairly new to archery but want to make sure that I am a competent enough shooter when in the woods. When practicing on targets, what is a good standard of measurement? for example, what should my groupings be at x amount of yards? Mind you, I'm not shooting competitively, just hunting ethically. Any thoughts?

Goose

RE: Archery Accuracy

Postby Goose » Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:58 pm

Your doing right by asking!
Confidence is key!
Others may have different opinions and thoughts, but I am gonna say that WITH your broadheads on, you should be able to put all of your arrows in a paper plate. As a beginner, I wouldn't recommend any shots beyond 20 yards until you get some field experience.
It'll be interesting to see what other people think.
Best of luck, and as a warning: Bowhunting is very addicting!

Jake

Genesis 27:3 Take your bow and quiver full of arrows out into the open country, and hunt some wild game.....

shadow

Postby shadow » Mon Sep 21, 2009 3:10 pm

I always felt and was told early on that if you can consistently group your arrows within a 6" circle on your target at any given distance then your good to go at that yardage. Right or wrong?? Obviously the smaller the group the better.

When shooting my fieldpoints I can get great groups at 50 yards, but when I switched over to broadheads they weren't flying well past 30 yards, so I limited my shots on deer to 30 yards so I know I was able to hit what I was aiming at.
I have now switched to a differen't broadhead and I have increased my shooting range to 40 yards using them. I will also practice shooting at longer ranges but I will not take a shot using archery equipment past 40 yards.

TwistedX

Postby TwistedX » Mon Sep 21, 2009 3:51 pm