Farm Land Hunting Advice Please!

How can you become a better hunter? Find out here — and share your advice!
MI_bowhunter

Farm Land Hunting Advice Please!

Postby MI_bowhunter » Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:12 am

I've grown up hunting deep woods, so I'm a novice farm land hunter.  This season I've aquired a new piece of land to hunt.  Picture is below (black rectangle is the area I can hunt).  There is a small creek that runs through the south section of the property (thicker tree line running east/west).  On the far north, is a clump of thickets I assume a main bedding area (also contains some nice apple trees).  Decent sections of woods to the north and west.  Tree lines are THICK.  Current problem I have is that everything is standing corn, so I can't glass to see what's out there and how they are moving through the area.  I know there are some nice deer in this area though.  If you were targeting a mature buck, how would you approach this area?  Here are my thoughts..

1.  Set a stand on the far north section, right where there is a break in the treeline running north/south (hunt SW winds).
2.  Hunt somewhere along the creek (with N or NW winds).

Should I hunt field edge or slightly in the tree-lines a bit?  Should I wait to hunt until the corn is down?  Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

DeanoZ

RE: Farm Land Hunting Advice Please!

Postby DeanoZ » Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:33 am