Corn. I need help.

How can you become a better hunter? Find out here — and share your advice!
whubbard

Corn. I need help.

Postby whubbard » Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:09 pm

I am new to hunting agricultural fields. Tonight my wife and I saw five bucks walking into a cypress woods through a soybean field. They stopped and browsed in that field which I expected. However on the othre side of the woods there is a corn field. I didn't see the deer come out into that field but it seemed to me that is the direction they were heading. This may seem silly to some but do deer eat corn this early in the year? I've just always seen hunting shows the deer were eating corn after the stalks had turned brown and the corn was dry and hard. Just like what you'd put in a deer feeder. Thanks in advance for any help.
Hunting, fishing, drawing, and music occupied my every moment. Cares I knew not, and cared naught about them. --John James Audubon

Goose

RE: Corn. I need help.

Postby Goose » Tue Jul 14, 2009 6:20 pm

Here in WI you will see deer eating the green leaves and foliage on the young corn. I don't think it is a preferred food but I have seen it.
You are right in the fact that the deer will prefer it more in the later part of season when the corn dries. They will also use it as cover until it is cut.
Jake

Genesis 27:3 Take your bow and quiver full of arrows out into the open country, and hunt some wild game.....

69Viking

Postby 69Viking » Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:21 am