Snow & Footprints

How can you become a better hunter? Find out here — and share your advice!
bobow

Snow & Footprints

Postby bobow » Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:11 pm

Footprints in the snow.  How do deer react to them?  Scent control I can understand, but I assume deer can see fresh footprints in the snow.

Is there some trick to getting to your hunt location?  How do you all of you handle it?

Advice is appreciated.  BTW, it hasn't snowed here yet with any accumulation, but it is something I have always wondered about.  This is my first year bow hunting so I am hoping I have a chance to get out when it does snow or shortly thereafter.

paulie

RE: Snow & Footprints

Postby paulie » Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:32 pm

Well, for what its worth, the other evening I walked back to my truck(from the stand) in the snow, when I came out the next morning, I noticed that, a deer had followed my path from the night before(in my foot steps) through the yard(I park in the driveway at the farmhouse), damn near right to where my truck was parked! So, I would have to say their not to bothered by them. Now bear in mind, I wear rubber boots, spray them down with Scent killer(every outing), and also spray them with either red fox urine(lot of fox in area), or deer urine, for a cover scent. And also when I'm in the woods, if I come across any deer poop(fresh is better), I make it a point to step in it with both feet. Caution: do not do this unless you change your boots to drive home!! I've heard of guys that hunt near cow pastures doing the same thing with cow poo. I know, it sounds gross, but, think about it, the deer are used to that smell, and, it's not threatening to them.

PrairieShadow

Postby PrairieShadow » Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:40 am

Deer will always take the path of least resistance. If you have already made a path for them, they will use it.

A guy i know mows paths in grass/cattails to get to/from his stands silently without rubbing against all the vegetation.