Doe Management

Discuss Quality Deer Management issues here!
DoeEyed

Doe Management

Postby DoeEyed » Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:05 pm

For those of you that try to manage your hunting property. What do you take into consideration when deciding your doe harvest for the year?
All I have seen teaches me to trust the Creator for all I have not seen ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

msbadger

RE: Doe Management

Postby msbadger » Wed Oct 07, 2009 2:34 am

Good ?
 I take these into concideration

1...antlerless tags given out to our unit
2...#of hunters taking doe near by
3....doe with fawn sightings

Here at home maybe one doe taken
Down at camp as many as I have tags for then I can get signed over...NY allows 2 to be signed over

cdn1

Postby cdn1 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 2:45 am

I am new to this QDM thing but I think deer density (deer/acre) and then buck to doe ratios should be evaluated. I have been using trail cams all year to try to establish a deer inventroy for the 100acres I hunt. I haven't set any harvest goals yet but as I glean more info from this years trail cam pics and hunting obsevations. I think I will have a good idea of how many does to try to take. Then I will have to contend with tag avalibilty etc...
Cdn1

ranwin33

Postby ranwin33 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:39 am

I try to look at deer populations after the previous season's hunting is done.  I also gauge it on what shows up on trail cameras during the spring and summer, as well as the size is of what I believe to be a doe group that makes our property home.

Truthfully it's all just guess work and trial and error on my part.  If I feel like if I'm seeing lots of does, then I can shoot lots of does, if I'm seeing few does then I have to alter my choices.