Newbie to plotting

Discuss Quality Deer Management issues here!
bad faulkner

Newbie to plotting

Postby bad faulkner » Wed May 14, 2008 6:42 am

I'm planting my first plot ever tonight.  I'm new to the whole habitat enhancement and management for quality hunting/QDM mentality. It's been several years in the making of my new mentality.  I used to be the type of hunter who figured that since I got to hunt less than most, I owed it to myself to shoot any deer I saw, legally that is. 

But I've changed and I want to raise my boy, a new hunter this season, to be like the new me instead of the old me. 

Our property is a club and we don't have a longterm lease, so I'm not going to invest a ton of money in seed and trees, but I do want to feed our deer.  So, we're putting in a small plot of IC-cowpeas, using milorganite to try and keep the deer off them a few weeks, and we're always going to spread out some corn. 

The plot is only 60 yds long and 4 yards wide but I may get my buddy to till another 100 yards, based on how this first plot does. 

It's supposed to rain all day tomorrow so tonight's planting night!

What are you guys planting or have planted?

Chuck/NLa

RE: Newbie to plotting

Postby Chuck/NLa » Thu May 15, 2008 5:40 am

I've got a good crop of wheat/oats that I planted last fall. From my experience (and as the books tell you), if you don't have your "PH" right you'll be wasting a lot of time and money. Get that soil sample done and adjust accordingly.

scotman

Postby scotman » Sat May 24, 2008 3:48 pm

I planted a acre of clover in late april its starting to sprout up with all the rain we have been getting. The plot is littered with deer tracks feeding on the new growth already. Hope your hard work pays off!