Entering and Exiting treestands in the AM and PM

Have you ever fallen? Share your story ... it might save someone else's life!
blchandler1981@yahoo.com

Entering and Exiting treestands in the AM and PM

Postby blchandler1981@yahoo.com » Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:17 am

I'm kind of new to bowhunting, but my question is whats the best way to enter and exit your treestands in the morning and evening w/o having the luxury to drive up to your stand. I live here in Kansas and I have to walk 1/4 to 1/2mi through open fields to get to the group of trees where my stand is located. No way I could be dropped off or drive an ATV due to barb fenced sections of cattle and crops.

jonny5buck

Re: Entering and Exiting treestands in the AM and PM

Postby jonny5buck » Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:45 pm

blchandler1981@yahoo.com wrote:I'm kind of new to bowhunting, but my question is whats the best way to enter and exit your treestands in the morning and evening w/o having the luxury to drive up to your stand. I live here in Kansas and I have to walk 1/4 to 1/2mi through open fields to get to the group of trees where my stand is located. No way I could be dropped off or drive an ATV due to barb fenced sections of cattle and crops.

Several factors but if i was busting deer in the morning i would try getting in my stand way earlier or eliminate morning hunts altogether...crossing an open field isnt ideal but if the deer arent feeding in it or close by than i would venture thru at a walk and stop method..and would use no light if possible....Usually deer are heading back to their beds in the morning...if i was hunting this spot and seeing deer i would opt to take a lunch and tough it out...try sitting longer thru the morning and see if it develops into sighting deer.