Scent killer

What's the hunt looking like this year in your area? Share!
chrisoconnor

Scent killer

Postby chrisoconnor » Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:10 pm

I am new to hunting and am trying to find out the best scent killer to use when hunting whitetail. Any information on this would greatly be appreciated.

Woods Walker

Re: Scent killer

Postby Woods Walker » Sun Sep 30, 2012 9:15 pm

There is no such thing as a scent "killer". You will ALWAYS leave scent of some sort. The best we can do is to reduce our scent as much as possible so that we don't leave much making it harder for the game to detect and hopefull if they do detect it it's in such a small quantity that they think we're farther away from them than we actually are.

Best way to do this? Keep yourself and your gear clean. Play the wind always, learn the thermal patterns on your hunting grounds as best you can under different conditions, and take note of the barometric pressure when you hunt and plan accordingly.

Some of us use things like chlorophyll supplements to reduce the scent we emit from our bodies. I do this, and I also keep all of my hunting wear, boots included, in a sealable container in which I have cachet bags of leaf litter in so that everything smells like a fall woods. I've known others that rub ferns on their clothing for the same purpose.
Hunt Hard,

Kill Swiftly,

Waste Nothing,

Offer No Apologies.....

>>>--------------------------------->
NRA Endowment Life Member

hot tamale

Postby hot tamale » Sun Sep 30, 2012 10:31 pm

There are a lot of ways to reduce your scent.
so if you want the best info-tell us what you do as preparation for your upcoming hunt. If you are really green to hunting, then tell us what you think you should do.
Then we can give more specifics or point out many obvious things to us that maybe you overlooked or never thought about.
so type away and dont worry about taking up too much space.

:idea:

Woods Walker

Postby Woods Walker » Mon Oct 01, 2012 5:47 am