Hypothetical Conservation Question

What's the hunt looking like this year in your area? Share!
Hoytamania

Hypothetical Conservation Question

Postby Hoytamania » Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:45 pm

So I have a question for all my fellow hunters.

I am an undergraduate studying Wildlife Ecology: Resource and Management. In one of my classes my group has to make a presentation on the importance of hunting in terms of land and wildlife conservation. We are focusing out talk around the Pittman-Robertson act of 1937. For those that might not be fully informed on this act it essentially states that all license sales, an 11% tax of archery equipment and a 10% tax on firearms and ammunition will go into a federal fund used to conserve land and wildlife for outdoor recreation such as fishing and hunting.

One question we were going to ask the class is "Would license sales drop if hunters knew the money from license sales didn't go back into conservation and was allocated elsewhere?" I would also like to pose that question to you to try and get as much feedback as I can. Any answers you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

kellory

Re: Hypothetical Conservation Question

Postby kellory » Tue Oct 30, 2012 9:26 pm

I'll take a stab at this one.
They pulled a bait and switch like that with the Ohio lottery. To get it approved by the voters, they claimed a percentage of profits would fund education, and improve our schools. It was a lie. (a legal lie) because the operating funds for the school system is larger than what the lottery added, they simply swapped funds. The X number of dollars that the lottery added was deducted from the budget for other things, and the lottery just filled the hole. That kind of behavior angers me greatly.
I have a small hunting property on which I am not REQUIRED to buy permits of any kind. I only require permits when hunting public or private lands other than my own.