Deer Scouting?

What's the hunt looking like this year in your area? Share!
Msmithe21

Deer Scouting?

Postby Msmithe21 » Thu May 30, 2013 6:25 am

Hey guys, so recently I have been going out into the woods that I plan on hunting and I have found deer droppings and old rub marks and even some tracks. My real question is how do you put it all together to find a succesful hunting spot? It seems like I cant put it all together to find where I should hang a treestand. Should I hang my stands on the sign or roughly near it? Or should I look for the bigger area that I can see all of it. I am very new to hunting so mind the stupid question haha I just want to learn how to find some good spots. Also if it helps I will be hunting out of a climber stand so I can move from trees depending on conditions and such. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
-Mike

rthomas4

Re: Deer Scouting?

Postby rthomas4 » Thu May 30, 2013 10:57 am

I wouldn't hang a stand directly over a trail, rub, or scrape; so I'd suggest locating a couple of trees that overlook the area that would provide you with some options based on the wind direction. I've never used a climber or a hang on type of stand, since I use ladder stands, ground blinds, and permanent tower blinds and shooting houses, so my suggestions are based strictly on my 50 years of hunting.
NRA LM, NAHC LM, Buckmasters LM, The Second Amendment Foundation, GOA, NAGR, Palmetto Gun Rights, QDMA, DU, NWTF, ASAdisabled sportsmens' alliance, EDH, and Proud SC redneck REBEL for life.

1-GTOHunter

Postby 1-GTOHunter » Thu May 30, 2013 5:32 pm