to leave scope on or off

What's the hunt looking like this year in your area? Share!
crossbow

to leave scope on or off

Postby crossbow » Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:50 pm

im new to hunting. my question is,in the off season, should I take the scope off my rifle,or leave it on?

gatodoc

Re: to leave scope on or off

Postby gatodoc » Sat Dec 21, 2013 10:08 pm

I leave mine on and check the sighting during the summer,,,,Never been a problem...

1911p

Postby 1911p » Sat Dec 21, 2013 11:28 pm

Mine stays on, and I'll re-zero it before I take it hunting.

Woods Walker

Postby Woods Walker » Sat Dec 21, 2013 11:48 pm

ON! 24/7/365
Hunt Hard,

Kill Swiftly,

Waste Nothing,

Offer No Apologies.....

>>>--------------------------------->
NRA Endowment Life Member

shaman

Postby shaman » Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:46 am

Short answer: On.

I did know this guy who asked me one day about a laser boresighter. As I dug into what his needs were, it became obvious that he was taking the scope off the rifle after each trip to the range.

WHAAT???

Oh, that's the way you're SUPPOSED to do it. Din't you know?

It turns out he had been removing the whole shebang off the rifle after each trip to the range. I tried to get him to understand.

NOW! having said all that there ARE some mounts that allow removal. Leupold makes a mount and rings that work very well. I've tried it. It works. You can take the scope off the rifle and put it back on and it returns to zero. I have them on my 7600 in 35 Whelen. They work, but they came with the rifle, and I have not removed the scope except once to change it out.

I've seen other arrangements, but in general the scope stays on the rifle. There is just so much trouble to get everything sighted in just right that most folks don't want to risk throwing it off by monkeying with the scope afterwards.