Rubber boot odors

What's the hunt looking like this year in your area? Share!
bobow

Rubber boot odors

Postby bobow » Mon Sep 29, 2008 1:32 pm

I am a complete newbie to bow hunting this year.  I have read and enjoyed the posts on this entire forum.

The question I have is, is there anyway to cover or eliminate the new rubber smell on boots other than leaving them outside for a year?

Bigfoot

RE: Rubber boot odors

Postby Bigfoot » Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:21 pm

i've worn brand new rubber boots out before,and the deer didnt pay any attention

maybe wait for a rainy day and go out and "muddy" them up?

Patriot

Postby Patriot » Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:43 pm

bobow,
Welcome to the forum and the wonderful world of bowhunting!

To answer your question:
1.  Wash your new rubber boots with warm water (and maybe some scent free soap).
2.  Spray them down with scent killer spray every time you use them
3.  Leave them outside for a few days here and there.

At least that's what I do.

Be sure to kjeep us posted on your bowhunting endevours!
Paul K. "aim small, miss small"

JPH

Postby JPH » Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:58 pm

I've had my rubber boots outside, under the deck since last winter and they still smell like...well, rubber. 

A liberal dose of scent killer spray never hurt anything and I will often try to drag my feet through a cow pie as I walk to the stand.

But I think the real advantage of rubber boots is that they will not absorb any other odors. Leather will.

burnnurse1

Postby burnnurse1 » Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:19 pm

I agree with JPH. My boots are an old pair and they smell the same as they did when I bought them. I equate it like this. We ride ATV's to and from stands, and the rubber tires never seem to bother the deer!! 

bobow

Postby bobow » Tue Sep 30, 2008 2:03 am

I checked my cache last night and found some scent free body soap in a liquid or gel form.

I washed them down last night and set them back outside and this morning it seemed to make a big difference.