"mountain bike"

What's the hunt looking like this year in your area? Share!
mag30079

"mountain bike"

Postby mag30079 » Fri Sep 05, 2008 8:56 am

Does anyone use a mountain bike to get to those real far spots of the road? I've been looking at cheap bikes I could weld some brackets on for my tree stand and equipment. I think this would be a fast way to get back there with out sweating up a storm.

Any thought

bckklr

RE: "mountain bike"

Postby bckklr » Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:18 am

ive been using one for the last 5 years mainly for turkeys but occasionaly for deer i picked mine up @ goodwill for 10$ i work @ a weld shop so ive made some mods to hold my gun & stuff it works great we have a mngmnt area here in tn that in turk season they block off most of the roads so you have to hike in but not me i ride yeah you might have to push it up a hill sometimes but i can cover twice as much land twice as quick ive never seen anyone else do it but it is a great way to hunt especialy for turkeys you can here them gobble while riding & it doesnt seem to spook game as bad as walkin they look @ ya like what the... is that i guess the sound of the tires doesnt sound like a man walkin & your outline i guess looks different to them i ride up on both deer & turkeys quite often yard sales would be another place to look for a cheap bike
adapt & overcome

hoosierhuntercustomcalls.com

Robert Rowland

Postby Robert Rowland » Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:35 pm

Growing up, before I had my drivers license I rode my bike for everything including hunting. I didn't have the fancy stuff to carry, just my gun and some ammo. I had a neighbor that lived 1/2 mile away that I fished with a lot. We hit every pond within a 5 mile radius on our bikes.

howhill1

Postby howhill1 » Fri Sep 05, 2008 2:37 pm

we had a guy at work who made a small trailer to drag behind his mountain bike.