"Gun Went Off While Cleaning It..."

Off Topic is the place for anything that doesn't quite fit into the other categories.
Woods Walker

"Gun Went Off While Cleaning It..."

Postby Woods Walker » Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 am

Hearing this stupid reasoning yet again for a few accidental shootings that were on the news recently, I realized that this is the most common excuse for an accidental discharge.

And I think I smell male bovine doo-doo.

I've been handling firearms for 46 years now, under all types of conditions, and I've NEVER, EVER discovered a round in a chamber that I didn't know was there. ESPECIALLY when cleaning a firearm!

I was taught the old school way (and I hope it still being taught that way), where you check the breech on ANY firearm that you pick up, even if it was handed to you by someone else that you saw check that same breech. Not just visual, but many times physically too. That's what your pinky is for! I do it now out of force of habit.

Methinks that a lot of these, "I was cleaning my gun and it accidently went off", excuses are coverups for people that,

1. Don't know what they're doing.

2. Were screwing around doing Lord knows what with a loaded gun, and the gun did exactly what it was designed to do....shoot a projectile......

3. Were extremely CARELESS and it finally caught up to them.

Whatever it is, I wish they'd get their heads removed from their posteriors, so that no one else gets killed or injured, not to mention a black eye for the rest of us.

There now...end of rant.  I feel MUCH better now! [:)]
Hunt Hard,

Kill Swiftly,

Waste Nothing,

Offer No Apologies.....

>>>--------------------------------->
NRA Endowment Life Member

kribbz

RE: "Gun Went Off While Cleaning It..."

Postby kribbz » Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:30 am