To peep or not to peep?

Bowhunting experiences, the best way to tune a bow -- share your knowledge here!
Eroc

To peep or not to peep?

Postby Eroc » Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:54 pm

After what little practice I've had with my new used bow, I've determined that my eyesight is not very good (I'll be 50 next year). I have trouble seeing through the peep sight. I can shoot a rifle very well, so I after searching the forum unsuccessfully, thought I would see if anyone has used the rifle sights for the bow. I checked out the Peep Eliminator and it looks a good alternative. Any Comments good and bad would be appreciated. I don't want to rely on advertisements.

Randy
New To Deer Hunting And Hoping For A Good First Season!

Goose

RE: To peep or not to peep?

Postby Goose » Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:01 pm

I have no experience with any of the rear sights but have you looked at the string splitter?
http://www.stringsplitter.net/ss.asp

This might give you another option.[;)]

I personally like G5's meta peep for a peep sight and believe I shoot alot better with a peep than without.
I believe truglow makes a peep sight with some fiber optic in it to help gather light. My dad uses that one and says it helps. I don't know for sure if it does or not.
Have you looked at peep sights with bigger holes like 1/4 inch and up?
Dont know if this helps but good luck!
Jake

Genesis 27:3 Take your bow and quiver full of arrows out into the open country, and hunt some wild game.....

Eroc

Postby Eroc » Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:21 pm

Yes that might be a less expensive alternative, $17.00 vs $50.00. There is a dealer not to far from me that carries em, I'll check em out. Don't know that a peep with fiber optics would work for me. Too much light maybe, heck i don't know. I will check out the string splitter though.

Thanks for the input.
Randy
New To Deer Hunting And Hoping For A Good First Season!

PrairieShadow

Postby PrairieShadow » Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:30 pm

ORIGINAL: Goos