Help requested for a new/old bowhunter

Bowhunting experiences, the best way to tune a bow -- share your knowledge here!
keystonehunter

Help requested for a new/old bowhunter

Postby keystonehunter » Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:16 pm

Evening everyone. OK here's the scoop. In my 20s & 30s I was an avid bowhunter. Moderately successful. Practiced a great deal. Accurate out to 35 yards. Since then, nearly 15 years have gone by. Due to work demands I haven't been able to pick up a bow. Now things have changed. Different job position, and time to hunt during the bow season!Image

I know a great deal of progress has been made in terms of equipment, technology,etc. So, in a way, I'm a novice and in some ways not.
I desperately need an equipment upgrade. New bow, arrow, broadheads, quiver , sights, rests, etc, etc.

So, my request to all of you is for $1000 or less, what should I buy to assemble the whole package?

I used to shoot a 65# Golden Eagle bow with easton aluminum arrows.

My height is 6'2", around 210#. Draw length is 31" if I recall. I'll be hunting primarily from a stand but occasionally will stalk through heavy cover. 

Many thanks in advance for your input. And to everyone, have a great Christmas and holiday season!
you never shoot a buck from the couch

Highlander Archery

RE: Help requested for a new/old bowhunter

Postby Highlander Archery » Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:21 pm

Browning/PSE bow packages will get you everything you need to start except broadheads and release. They will average around $500.00 retail. Broadheads will be around 35.00 per pack and a release will cost between 20 and 70 dollars retail.

Goose

Postby Goose » Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:51 pm

i would suggest a mission bow by Mathews 500ish, a dozen arrows of your choosing, Id recommend 2 inch blazers for fletchings, rage 2 blade broad heads, tru ball wrist release. fuse stabilizer, g5 sights, 1/4 inch g5 meta peep, wrist sling, trophy taker drop away rest.