Ethics of bowhunting in rain?

Bowhunting experiences, the best way to tune a bow -- share your knowledge here!
deerdown

Ethics of bowhunting in rain?

Postby deerdown » Thu Oct 09, 2008 7:15 am

I was pondering this thought and was curious how other bowhunters feel about this.  Let's face it, a mortally hit deer can sometimes go a fair distance before expiring and their is always the chance of a less than perfect hit making blood trailing even harder.  What if it's raining?  Do you still take the shot?  I am on the fence here.  Sometimes you can't pick your hunting days and just want to get in the woods.
It's a fine line between passion and obsession ... my wife reminds me of this each fall

gunther89

RE: Ethics of bowhunting in rain?

Postby gunther89 » Thu Oct 09, 2008 7:27 am

I've hunted in the rain before and I make sure that its gonna be a good shot.  I won't take a shot if its out there past 20 yards.  It's a hard decision because im a college student and I don't get many weekends to hunt and you want to make the most of it.  I guess its a judgement call if you think you can make the shot then take it, if you don't feel confortable with it then don't take it.

hunter480

Postby hunter480 » Thu Oct 09, 2008 7:37 am

This is a valid question, and one everyone should consider.

I`d never bow hunt in the rain intentionally, just because the blood trail is so important in bow hunting especially.