turning broadheads

Bowhunting experiences, the best way to tune a bow -- share your knowledge here!
ibewman

turning broadheads

Postby ibewman » Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:17 pm

im kinda new to this but how do you turn the inserts in carbon arrows
i didnt climb to the top of the food chain to eat soy burgers

OHhunter

RE: turning broadheads

Postby OHhunter » Tue Sep 16, 2008 3:28 pm

I've always read not to heat carbon which is how I turned them in my xx75's years ago, I don't really know with carbon?  Good question.  I've been using bemen max4's with hit inserts since they came out and really haven't had to worry about it to much.  If I come across one with a lot of wobble I try a different broadhead, if it still wobbles, it goes to my practice quiver.

sorry not much help.

fasteddie

Postby fasteddie » Tue Sep 16, 2008 4:22 pm

What are you trying to accomplish that you would want to "turn an insert" ?

howhill1

Postby howhill1 » Tue Sep 16, 2008 4:27 pm

i assume your trying to align your broadheads. try using some small rubber orings. you can snug your heads enough to align them. spin em after words to check allignment.
"please join the N.R.A. as well as your state rifle association! these are critical times for ALL gun owners. Be informed, be active and stay vigilant"

Goose

Postby Goose » Tue Sep 16, 2008 4:41 pm

Do what howhill said, but Ive seen the pro shop heat up carbon arrows.
Jake

Genesis 27:3 Take your bow and quiver full of arrows out into the open country, and hunt some wild game.....

PrairieShadow

Postby PrairieShadow » Tue Sep 16, 2008 7:05 pm

Be very careful if you do heat carbon as to much heat will burn it and you will have no strength at the tip of your arrow.

As for heating carbon, the HIT inserts are glued with epoxy so i cant see this working anyway.

fasteddie

Postby fasteddie » Wed Sep 17, 2008 2:16 am