Bow Shops

Bowhunting experiences, the best way to tune a bow -- share your knowledge here!
Goose

Bow Shops

Postby Goose » Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:23 pm

Off of fast eddies post about a bow repair gone bad I was thinking wouldnt it be great if they offered a school or certification of Bow mechanics like they do with auto mechanics. I would feel better if the pro shop had a plaque that stated their employees were all certified by so and so like SAE certified mechanics.
Jake

Genesis 27:3 Take your bow and quiver full of arrows out into the open country, and hunt some wild game.....

Highlander Archery

RE: Bow Shops

Postby Highlander Archery » Tue Sep 02, 2008 5:31 pm

Some mfgs do train pro shops in mechanics, unfortunately they seem to be poorly marketed.

Sailfish

Postby Sailfish » Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:51 am

Let me just add to this.
I am new to bow hunting, I have done alot of reading and practicing and what not on bows, but there are just some things that an qualified person would be great to hire or have around to show you the ropes so to speak.

I have contacted 2 area (and very reputable, allegedly) bow shops in the past asking for some assistance on a couple matters. I offered to pay and hourly or half hour rate, whatever it would take.
Guess who took me up on my offer? No one.

You know it these hard times you would think folks would be a tad more customer friendly.

Oh, it did solve my dilemma on where I will be purchasing future supplies and equipment, and I also have a new book:

[font=arial]TUNING YOUR COMPOUND BOW[/font]
[font=arial][/font] 
[font=arial]by Larry Wise. (I hope I can give him this plug)[/font]
"Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther."

ranwin33

Postby ranwin33 » Wed Sep 03, 2008 4:00 am

That's pretty much been my experience with local bow shops.  No interest unless your part of some inner circle.