few questions

Bowhunting experiences, the best way to tune a bow -- share your knowledge here!
fireflyparamedic

few questions

Postby fireflyparamedic » Mon Aug 04, 2008 6:48 am

Alright since I'm new to bowhunting I have a few questions. 1) what is brace height. 2) what is the back bone as it is referred to in review columns. 3) when shooting from a tree stand the angle of the shot is not true with the distance from the ground to the object what do you do for pin placement. I know you can buy the new range finders with the feature of " ARC " but I don't have a range finder yet so do you guys in the forum have suggestions. thanks again
fireflyparamedic

mhouck06

RE: few questions

Postby mhouck06 » Mon Aug 04, 2008 8:08 am

if you look at a bow.. the little bar with the cable slide, the distance from the handle to there is the brace height. a longer brace height is said to give more shot forgiveness when you torque a bow. although, i went from an 8 inch brace height to 6 inch and have no noticed much difference. im not really sure what the back bone is refering to, and as far as the angle of a shot.. there is not much need for a range finder with arc, unless you are shooting some extreme angles or a slower bow.. you can figure it out with a simple calculation..

heres a comment i posted to someone else when asking about a range finder

Image RE: rangefinders - 7/18/2008 9:51:11 AM   

showPicture("7/18/2008 9:51:11 AM",0,0,0,1751,17)

mhouck06

titleAndStar(108,0,false,false,"","")

[align=center] [/align]
someone else had a post like this about a month or so ago.. heres what i told them

[font="times new roman"]its not worth getting the range finder.. if you measure off around your stand all you need to do it shoot that distance.. the distance from the base of your tree to the target, no matter how high you are, it works. if you dont trust that.. a simple math equation will do the trick.[/font]
[font="times new roman"]A^2+B^2=C^2  [/font]