My lifetime dream buck

kennelboy

My lifetime dream buck

Postby kennelboy » Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:39 am

Well, I am new here and just wanted to say hi to one and all.
I have been hunting whitetail now for over 20 years both with Bow and Gun.
I want to share some pics of the 8 pt I got on the last day of the NY firearm season 12/7, zone 7M Chenango County.
I harvested this buck @ 2:30 pm on Sunday. He cam walking down the hill and turned @ 65 yards broadside and I took my shot righ behind the front sholder. He went 75 yards before going down.
This is my dream deer, my lifetime pursuit, biggest deer I have ever taken.
just wondering, not that it matters, how this deer would score?
I know nothing about the scoring part of it, but curious just the same.
Thanks for sharing in my experience. I am still smiling over this one.

beagleman23

RE: My lifetime dream buck

Postby beagleman23 » Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:34 pm

Congrats, very nice New York buck.  Shotgun or rifle?  I don't know much about zone 7.  Very tough to score by a picture but I'll stick my neck out and say in the 120's.  Easy to rough score yourself though.  Measure each beam from the inside of the antler from the base to tip, measure each point from a hortizontal line upward from the top of each beam, measure the circumference of the beam at the narrowest spot between each point starting between the base and the G-1's and finally the inside width at the narrowest point about mid-way along the beam.  Each measurement is to the nearest 1/8", add together and you'll have a rough estimate of your gross score.  The net is found by subtracting the difference in measurement from side to side.  You should be able to find better instructions with pictures on line. 

kennelboy

Postby kennelboy » Tue Dec 09, 2008 3:25 pm

rifle beagle, not that i wish i didnt take him with bow, I am tickled with this one, I just dropped him off at the taxidermised tonight, like i said, this is my biggest ever.

paulie