Cathy Stepp named DNR Secretary

Wolf River Hunter

Cathy Stepp named DNR Secretary

Postby Wolf River Hunter » Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:55 pm

From JSonline:

Governor-elect Scott Walker has named Cathy Stepp as incoming Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources.

Stepp, of Racine County, served as a state senator from 2003 to 2007 and as a member of the Natural Resources Board from 1998 to 2001. She has also helped run businesses with her husband, including a home building company.

"I strongly believe job creation and environmental protection can be mutually supportive," Stepp said in a statement released Thursday morning to DNR staff. "As a small business owner, I understand the importance of customer-friendly relations."

While in the legislature, Stepp was chair of the Senate’s Job Creation Committee and co-chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Committee. She did not seek re-election to the senate.

Stepp named two top assistants: Matt Moroney as Deputy Secretary and Scott Gunderson as Executive Assistant.

Moroney is an attorney at DeWitt Ross and Stevens in Madison and previously worked as Executive Director of the Metropolitan Builders Association of Greater Milwaukee. Gunderson has represented the 83rd District in the Assembly for the last 16 years. While in the legislature, he was on the Assembly Natural Resources Committee, including four years as chairman.
I'd rather drag out a 4 pointer with my father than a 10 pointer alone.

wisbooner3932

RE: Cathy Stepp named DNR Secretary

Postby wisbooner3932 » Mon Jan 03, 2011 3:16 pm