Soybeans?

Tracks, Rubs, Scrapes, Trails, Etc.
Nubs

Soybeans?

Postby Nubs » Sun Sep 06, 2009 9:29 am

Question:  During July and early Aug. I was seeing lots of deer out in my bean field, lots of them!  But over the last 3 weeks I have hardly seen any, maybe a doe and fawn once in awhile but certainly not like it was.  Do deer normally stop eating the beans this time of year and find something else to munch on?  I know the acorns are dropping like crazy right now, could that be the cause for the dramatic drop in deer hitting my bean field?  When do the deer usually come back for the beans, I have heard that it is when it starts to get pretty cold.  Any info on this would be great, this is my first year using soybeans.

Goose

RE: Soybeans?

Postby Goose » Sun Sep 06, 2009 10:59 am

You are right, they are hitting the mast trees now that they are dropping.
You will still see deer using the beans all the way through winter or harvest but for the most part they will hit the acorns right now while they are there.
If your beans are the only real food source around they will return to them when the acorns slow down.
We noticed that it picked back up at the end of October last year for us.
The reason for them not preferring the beans as much is because the cell wall compound that makes the plant sturdier as it matures is not as palatable to deer as it was when the plants were younger.
They will come back for the beans later.
Jake

Genesis 27:3 Take your bow and quiver full of arrows out into the open country, and hunt some wild game.....

NYarcher

Postby NYarcher » Sun Sep 06, 2009 11:36 am

Right on the money Goose. We have soybean planted in rotation every other year in one of our fields. Every time we see the slow down it coincides with the mast crop in the woods. Took a trail cam to finally figure that out for myself lol. When acorns are on the ground deer will prefer them over anything. Throw in some apple trees and it is a deadly combination in the early season!